The NEBOSH National General Certificate – What’s changed?

Industry News By Matthew Coombes

NEBOSH Gold Learning Partner

The NEBOSH National General Certificate has undergone a whole syllabus change to make it more approachable and accessible. This means that in 2020 we’re running a whole new look to one of the worlds most widely recognised health and safety qualifications. The NEBOSH National General Certificate is a great qualification for anyone looking to get a broad understanding of health and safety management.

The changes:

This new look qualification has been redesigned to be more approachable, and the syllabus has been re-worded to make it easier to understand. The syllabus is in ‘Plain English’ to make sure that it’s less formal and more to the point. The practical assessment and the examination have both been redefined to ensure that what’s expected of the student is clearly set out, so no unexpected surprises!
Although the syllabus has been completely re-written the qualification is still the same level. It is a level 6 Scottish Credit and Qualifications Framework (SCQF), which is equivalent to an English level 3 in National Qualification Framework (NQF).
The NEBOSH National General Certificate is accepted by IOSH for associate or technical membership.

Course structure:

The content for the qualification has been reduced from the thirteen elements in the previous course down to just eleven, and this reduction has been reflected in the study time.
The previous NEBOSH National General Certificate course was 133 hours of study time, the new syllabus has reduced this by 20 hours.
Taught hours: 68 Self-study hours: 40 Assessment hours: 5 Total: 113.NEBOSH General Certificate Information

Assessment structure:

The previous syllabus for the NEBOSH National General Certificate contained 2 exams and a practical risk assessment.
The new syllabus has one examination and a practical risk assessment. The exam focuses on the common workplace hazard topics discussed in elements 1-4. The exam questions have been written in ‘Plain English’ to ensure that they are clear to the student, ensuring that they are more accessible and approachable than previous exams. The risk assessment focuses on elements 5-11 and is used as a confirmation of learning, allowing the student to apply the knowledge they have learned to real life. The practical risk assessment is marked by NEBOSH.

Both assessments require a passing grade in order to accomplish the NEBOSH General Certificate, and your overall grade depends on the marks that you obtain for your written examination.
Distinction: 75 marks or higher
Credit: 65-74 marks
Pass: 45-64 marks

Changes to NEBOSH fee structure:

Unit NG1 Question Paper £46
Unit NG2 Practical £70
Total £116

Related Articles

Page Loading

We now accept Klarna as a payment method. You will see this as an available option at checkout when completing the purchase. Dismiss